Skip to content

Delta throwback: Museum's new addition

The addition was to showcase the municipality’s fishing heritage
Delta Museum curator Michael Duncan (top left) is pictured on the deck with Ken Taylor. Also pictured are museum treasurer Arla Kostynick, director Donna Mueller, vice-president Madeleine Bellingham, as well as directors Sue McConnell and Barbara Pybus. The children lending a hand were Morri Kostynick and Lisa Mueller.

Let’s head back to June 1974 when the Delta Historical Museum in Ladner Village got a big new addition.

Fish buyer Ken Taylor donated a gillnetter fish boat to the museum, which opened five years earlier. The boat sat for a time outside the museum before its condition had deteriorated.

The addition was to showcase the municipality’s rich fishing heritage.

By 1899, there were 16 fish canneries built on the south shore of the Fraser River in Delta alone.